Teen Tuesday – Hub Reading Challenge Take Two!

It’s baaack!  Now that the winners of the Youth Media Awards have been announced, it’s time once again to sign up for YALSA’s Hub Reading Challenge.  Click on the link, join the fun, and stretch your reading horizons!  I signed up last year for the first time and really enjoyed the wide variety of books I wouldn’t have read otherwise.  Sad, but true, it’s too easy to get into a reading rut.  The remedy?  Busting out of our self-imposed parameters now and then, and the Hub Challenge is a great way to start!

universeThis year’s list includes 77 titles in book and audio format.  Among them are Great Graphic Novels, Amazing Audiobooks, Popular Paperbacks, and Quick Picks, along with this year’s award winners and honor books.  As one who doesn’t read a lot of adult novels, I especially enjoy the Alex Award winners, books written for adults but also recommended for teens.  I have The Universe Versus Alex Woods as my next read.

One of my favorite authors, Markus Zusak, was this year’s winner of the Margaret A. Edwards award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults.  All four of his books are on the Hub reading list, but if they’re going to count toward my reading, I’d have to reread them . . . hmmm.  It takes 25 books to complete the Hub Challenge and the deadline is June 22nd, so I’ll probably stick to the new titles I haven’t yet read.  For those who choose Markus Zusak’s books, I highly recommend them all for the descriptive prose, touching characters, and unique style.  Each of his books is a gem.

Like before, I’ll note my progress and post some reviews.  My blog companion, Steve, joined last year and took up the challenge with me and I’m hoping this year, we can talk a few others into giving it a try.    What a great opportunity to experience some of the best literature for young adults.  And the icing on the cake?  Finishers will be entered into the grand prize drawing for a YALSA bag of new 2013-2014 books!  Sign up now, you’ll be glad you did.

By the way, check out SimonTeen’s Facebook page.  This publishing house is giving away 50 copies of Printz award-winning author John Corey Whaley’s newest book, Noggin, due out in April.  Contest ends February 25th but there are other giveaways and promotions going on, so if you’re feeling lucky and like free books, it’s worth checking back often.

2 thoughts on “Teen Tuesday – Hub Reading Challenge Take Two!

    • Yippee! We couldn’t agree more. Let us know what you’re reading and check back for our reviews. Participants usually post on Saturdays over at the YALSA Hub blog, so give it a look, too, for more reading recommendations.

Leave a Reply

