Teen Tuesday – Taylor P. reviews Gretchen McNeil’s novel Ten!

tenTen Teens. Three days. One Killer.

Meg and Minnie are two best friends that just got invited to a house party on Henry Island along with eight other teenagers. It is supposed to be one of the biggest parties of the year and both of the girls expected it to be. That is until everyone finds a DVD at the party with a terrorizing message: “Vengeance is mine.”

Suddenly, people are found dead and Meg knows there is more to it than just being an accident. The more clues that begin to emerge, the more Meg believes their deaths are not accidents. To top it off, all of the teens are stuck on the island for three days with no phones or electricity until the ferry picks them up. Will Meg’s ideas lead her to stop the people around her from dying within those three days? Find out in Gretchen McNeil’s novel Ten.

I couldn’t help but think Ten was going to be a mediocre horror novel filled with expected outcomes. In the end I regretted thinking that about this novel. I loved how McNeil filled the novel with moody teenage characters which captured the true drama and suspense of their predicament. The one thing I didn’t like within the novel was the way Meg talked about Minnie’s prescription drug Klonopin. In chapter 11, on page 80 Meg makes a reference to Minnie’s prescription stating, ”Girl was getting twitchy, and Meg wondered if Minnie was going to have to share her Klonopin.”  Klonopin is a prescription drug used to help control panic and seizure disorders and should only be used by the person prescribed to them. I don’t think that the reference to sharing prescription drugs was needed to capture the pure panic of the teenagers in the novel. Other than that, it was a great read!  Enjoy!

Check out more book reviews by me here or on my personal book review blog at http://www.heartgrabbingbooks.blogspot.com !

2 thoughts on “Teen Tuesday – Taylor P. reviews Gretchen McNeil’s novel Ten!

  1. I loved this book! It was gripping, suspenseful, kept me guessing the whole time. What was great was that towards the end I thought I knew exactly who it was, and for a quick moment I thought I was right. And then everything twisted and I was completely wrong! Wonderful story-telling by the author.

Leave a Reply

