Teen Tuesday – Read-Alikes for Ripper by Stefan Petrucha

Teens!  Do you like to read and review?  We have a selection of books that you can read, review and keep!  Stop by Whitney’s Young People’s desk if you’re interested in contributing to our Teen Tuesday blog. This week’s Teen Tuesday comes from teen patron Jesse P. who gives us a list of read-alikes for Stefan Petrucha’s Ripper.  Thanks, Jesse!

The book Ripper by Stefan Petrucha is an interesting read for any who enjoys mystery and history. The storyline is based around the protagonist Carver Young seeking the identity of his father while also dealing with the case of a 1900’s murderer in New York City. For those who have read the book and are seeking other novels along the same lines, the list below shares some novels that may pique an interest:

mazeofbonesThe 39 Clues series

This series deals with a network of people who have been hailed as history’s most notorious figures. Their importance is that many are distantly related from one original family, the Cahills, giving a spin to the subject. The first book, the Maze of Bones, is by New York Times #1 best-selling author Rick Riordan.

Blood Sun

A novel whose main character struggles with the same problem as Ripper’s Carver Young, finding the truth about a family member. Where Carver is searching for his father, Blood Sun’s Max Gordon is seeking the truth about his mother. The novel is by author David Gilman.

Leviathan

This adventure encompasses three books set during World War One. The twist this trilogy gives to history is that the Allies consist of Darwinists, scientists capable of creating animals that can be utilized as unique weapons. There are also the Axis Powers who rely on machinery to fulfill their actions in war. The series is written by Scott Westerfeld.

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel

A six-book saga that is set during present day. This book stands among the others by the fact that it stars characters from a thealchemystwide range of history, such as Italian philosopher Niccolo Machiavelli, French war heroine Joan of Arc and English writer William Shakespeare. These historical figures have survived the ebb of time by discovering a race of incredible beings revered as gods who wield a power so great it is called magic. Some stand alongside humanity, while there are those who seek to destroy it. In a wonderful blend of fiction and history, the names that have withstood the test of time are depicted in new and creative ways. This series is penned by Michael Scott.

youkilledwesleyYou Killed Wesley Payne

Similar to Stefan Petrucha’s Ripper, the book You Killed Wesley Payne features a young detective on the search for the murder of a school student. Alongside mystery and crime, the book displays the different high school cliques and their places on the proverbial food chain. Just like Ripper, the book holds twists and turns about the suspects and who truly killed Wesley Payne. The novel is by author Sean Beaudoin.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Teen Tuesday – Read-Alikes for Ripper by Stefan Petrucha

  1. Its such as you read my thoughts! You seem to understand so much about this, such as you wrote the e-book
    in it or something. I think that you just can
    do with a few p.c. to power the message home a little bit,
    however instead of that, this is great blog. An excellent read.

    I’ll definitely be back.

  2. Many thanks for a good little piece dedicated to graphic novels. I believe the thing that I favor most on the subject of comic books and graphic novels could be their longevity. As a pro artist and writer of comics for over Twenty years, I tend to look in the art initial when looking at a narrative. No matter the subject matter, a good story is improved by fantastic graphics that moves the narrative forward..

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s