In the Stacks: Free, Fun, and Fabulous eMedia!

In the Stacks: A Blog Straight From the Mind of Steve

emediaI am really hoping that this won’t sound so bad, but I absolutely love stuff that is free. Not that I will go out of my way for bargains on most things, but when something of good quality is provided to me without any fee or charge, it’s just fantastic! My latest “freebee” I’m going to gloat about getting… an eMedia account.

Now, I’m sure most of you are saying “Steve, come on! We’ve had eMedia forever, you’re only just now using it!?” Well yes, unfortunately for me I am just such a late bloomer to most hip/new things. By that I must say that it took me all the way until the opening weekend of the last Harry Potter movie to actually read all of the books! Now to provide some back story to this whole eBook business, I’d like to share with you all that I own an iPod Touch. I have had it a little over a year now, and I love it something fierce. Yet with me being a big music buff, all I have ever used it for is playing my plethora of songs off of my iTunes account. It never even occurred to me that I could also be getting free materials from the library on my iPod as well. Boy, what a fool was I.

About a month ago, I decided I was going to tackle the feat of getting eMedia items on my iPod Touch. I will admit that I had always felt intimidated by all of the steps involved with setting up an eMedia account on one’s portable device. However readers, I am here to say it really wasn’t that bad at all. All you really need to set up your device to get eMedia items is a wireless connections and a quick download of one, maybe two types of software and or apps. Now I am sure I could go on pontificating about which devices require which specific type of software/app to use, but I will stop myself and simply say that if you ever have any direct questions on those matters, please feel free to contact the Virtual Librarians at 507-6300. Also, if you felt so inclined, there will be a digital bookmobile stopping by Summerlin Library on March 25th and Clark County Library on March 26th. There will be various staff members and volunteers there to physically provide you with all the general services required for getting your devices set up with eMedia. The bookmobile will be open to the public from 9:30 a.m. until 4 p.m. and there will be a drawing at the end of those days for someone to win a free Sony eReader!!! But enough plugging our services; back to the story at hand.

The first step I needed to conquer eMedia downloads was to have a wireless connection. Since I am at the library 5 days out of the week, I easily got logged into my library’s unfiltered access no problem. From there I accessed my iTunes account and downloaded the free Overdrive Media App. Once that downloaded I was prompted to download the newest version of the software titled “iOS”. Keep in mind this whole process only took me but 5 minutes tops. Once my iPod Touch had that software installed, I simply opened my new Overdrive App which told me I had to register an Adobe ID (which I did straight from the App and it only took my simple-minded self about two minutes). Then I was good to go and check out my pick of up to 50 e-media items. You can use Overdrive to search e-media catalogs from libraries all over the country (provided of course that you have an active membership with them).

I have been browsing our LVCCLD catalog for about a week now, but I still haven’t decided what my first book is going to be. I tried to download an eBook version of American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis, but that copy was checked out. I also was about to download The Cruise of the Snark by Jack London which always has copies available as it is a classic item, but I changed my mind at the last minute. Yes dear readers, I do have just as much of an eclectic taste in books as I do in music. Sometime soon, I just know I will pick my first eBook, and once I do all I’ll have to do is add it to my eMedia bag, then proceed checkout and download the book straight onto my iPod. I really am looking forward to it, but until that time I’m gonna keep browsing through the thousands of titles available right at my fingertips. Remember folks, don’t be a Steve… don’t be late to the party. Get your devices and start checking out some eMedia posthaste.

One thought on “In the Stacks: Free, Fun, and Fabulous eMedia!

  1. Ok, I normally would never do this, but I have to admit I made a bit of a typo. I’ll share what I mean if no one’s noticed it yet. “Then I was good to go and check out my pick of up to 50 e-media items.” Makes it sound like we only have 50 items in our catalog when we have thousands! I meant to say that I can check out up to 50 eMedia items at a time. My bad. Sorry everybody 😦 Me english be no good now. hahaha

Leave a Reply

