In the Stacks: A Blog Straight from the Mind of Steve – A Blast from the Past!

faerytaletheatreOnce again the library has astounded me with its continuous accrual of magnificent items that everyone can check out. Of course, in this day and age technology continues to soar out of control, and really the only “hip” things you can ever have come with a USB drive.  eBooks are ever proving themselves as an invaluable asset to anyone now seeking out the tremendous gift of reading. Added to that is the quest to obtain the gifts of HD TV or Blue Ray DVD players so that we may watch every possible movie or program known to mankind. But before I go off on some crazy tangent, I want to use this blog to express how happy I am that we now have yet another wonderful set of materials in our catalog.

Now because I need me some filler space on this blog, I will take this opportunity to tell you all a little story which will set up this whole thing perfectly. About two, maybe even three years ago, I was conversing with the awesome and amazing Kathleen DiGeorge about old juvenile items the Library District should order (being that she was the YPL Collection Development Head). I mentioned one item which I believe caused Kathy to make a big sigh. There was some further discussion on the matter, and we did have a mutual respect for the item, but I left figuring that the item would remain nonexistent on our shelves. Yet, just a few weeks ago, I was helping the Pages in the back sort room when all of a sudden an item plopped down in the YPL media bin for re-shelving that immediately caught my eye and practically brought me to tears (NO- It was not yet another copy of Twilight!). It was the item I talked about with Kathy all that time ago. And this magnificent item was: Shelley Duvall’s Faerie Tale Theatre.

This amazing set consists of so many performances I cherished a lot as a kid. I remember going to the library and getting each individual tale on VHS (I know! What are those!?), and I would watch them over and over because I thought they were amazing. And I see now that we have the entire set as one DVD box set. I still remember most of the episodes such as Pee-Wee Herman (Paul Reubens) in Pinocchio, Mick Jagger as the Chinese Emperor from The Nightingale, or even Billy Crystal as one of The Three Little Pigs. It was just a wonderful series when I was growing up, and at the time it was very popular. And to think that now it has a potential to be re-introduced to the public, it really puts a strong feeling in my heart, which I am pretty sure is not just the carne asada fries from Roberto’s Taco Shop.

So as I finish this blog (my last one for the year), I just want to say “Thank you!” to Mrs. Kathy DiGeorge for providing me such a wonderful treat to watch and enjoy again during my Christmas vacation. I will make sure to include my step-daughter in the viewing process. Granted she will also be taking just as much time if not more so to watch new movies on her soon to be brand new TV (It’s ok, she doesn’t read these blogs yet anyway). Or she could be reading a book and/or playing a game on her iPad. But perhaps I’ll get lucky, and she will enjoy watching these great stories herself. Maybe she’ll even enjoy them so much that she will let her children watch and enjoy them in the years to follow.

Leave a Reply

